Ebony Praise

Ebony Praise is a near perfect compilation of soulful praise songs. The infectious nature of a well written praise and worship song is probably enough to keep you coming back for more, but add to the equation a premier cast of writers, musicians and vocalists and you have – well, Ebony Praise.

The name of V. Michael McKay should be familiar to many. “Adoration” comes from his skilled pen. This straightforward praise and worship song is decorated by the vocal presence of Betty Ransom Ebony Praise CDNelson.

“Praise the Name of Jesus Medley” is a nice merging of two familiar songs and two familiar voices, Shawn McLemore and Brenda Waters. On the traditional tip is “Oh How I Love Jesus”, featuring leads again by McLemore and also Frank McGhee Jr.

Nikki Ross gives her usual stellar performance on “We Magnify Your Name”, written by praise and worship song master Stephen Hurd (see album review). Hurd also puts his P&W stamp on “Holy Is The Lamb”, a moving ballad with powerful narrative throughout by D.Z. Cofield. The narration manages to fit nicely against the backdrop of the melody without being obstrusive.

Executive producer Cofield then steps in and aptly handles the lead on “We’re In Your House” an uptempo devotional tune by Derek Triplett.

Other names of note on Ebony Praise include Rhonda McLemore, Bryant Pugh and Michael Pickett.

A sweet mix of stylings and songs both old and new make this one a must have. An added plus is the existence (available separately) of full instrumental tracks and performance tracks with background vocals that enables and encourages the sharing of praise and worship music.

Producer: D.Z. Cofield, S. McLemore, M. Pickett
album release date: August 2000
Joyful Noise Records / World Wide Gospel

— reviewed by Melanie Clark

  All content in GospelFlava © copyright 2000. No information to be reprinted or re-broadcast from this site without the expressed written consent of GospelFlava.com. All rights reserved.

New Releases
Message Board